ACE Elects New Officers as Program Celebrates 16th Anniversary

As the Alabama Communities of Excellence (ACE) begins its16th year of assisting selected smaller Alabama communities reach their economic potential, we cordially welcome the incoming 2018 officers, while at the same time expressing our sincere gratitude and thanks to the 2017 officers who worked fervently to expand the ACE program by accepting six new communities into the 2017 ACE class. This brings our impressive total to 44 ACE communities spread across 31 of Alabama’s 67 counties

The statewide ACE initiative combines the talents and knowledge of our partner and associate organizations to help improve the quality of life of citizens in participating ACE communities. The non-profit ACE organization offers a wide range of technical assistance services delivered through a comprehensive three-phase process that focuses on fostering community participation, developing effective action plans (both short-term strategic and long-term comprehensive plans), and developing a diverse leadership base. Since 2002, 35 communities have earned the designation of an Alabama Community of Excellence, with 9 additional communities currently working in various stages of the three-phase program to achieve the prestigious designation of becoming an ACE community. ACE provides the necessary tools and guidance to leaders of communities within a 2,000 to 18,000 population range to achieve sustainable economic success.

The 2018 ACE officers include: Mr. Brandon Bias of Goodwyn, Mills and Cawood, Inc. as President who succeeds Mr. Patrick Murphy of the Alabama Power Company; Ms. Carrie Banks of the Alabama League of Municipalities is our new Vice President, formerly the ACE Secretary; Ms. Tami Reist of the Alabama Mountain Lakes Tourist Association was elected Secretary; Ms. Wendi Boyen of Regions Bank remains as Treasurer.

The organization is managed by Executive Director, Ms. Sidney O. Hoover, and a 16-member Board of Directors. Ms. Hoover states, “We are excited to kick off our 16th year of working with some of the best small communities in Alabama.” She also comments that, “our founding partners continue to be active advocates of the program. We are privileged to work with a skilled team of committed, hardworking supporters that lead us in our endeavors to expand the quality-of-life for citizens in these communities.”

Over the past year, ACE welcomed The Alabama Mountain Lakes Tourist Association as a new partner to the Board of Directors: We are pleased to include them on our Board.

The ACE 2018 Board of Directors includes:

  • Brandon Bias, President and Chairman of the Board – Goodwyn Mills & Cawood
  • Carrie Banks, Vice President – Alabama League of Municipalities
  • Tami Reist, Secretary – Alabama Mountain Lakes Tourist Association
  • Wendi Boyen, Treasurer – Regions Bank
  • Aliquippa Allen – The University of West Alabama
  • Kenneth Boswell – Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs
  • Brian Davis – Alabama Small Business Development Center Network
  • Shane Kearney – Alabama Power Company
  • Wiley Lott – Southeast Gas
  • Arturo Menefee – Auburn University – ACES Community Development
  • Lisa Miller, – Alabama Municipal Electric Authority
  • Nisa Miranda – The University of Alabama Center for Economic Development
  • Mary Shell – Alabama Historical Commission
  • Ken Smith – Alabama League of Municipalities
  • Joe Sumners – Auburn University – Government and Economic Development Institute
  • Angela Till – Alabama Department of Commerce
  • Beverly Helton – USDA Rural Development

The ACE Associate Council is comprised of individuals across Alabama who volunteer their time and talent to provide community and economic development services. The energetic efforts of these dedicated volunteers, make it possible for ACE to deliver high quality technical assistance at little or no cost to the participating communities.

The 2018 Associate Council Officers remain the same as 2017 and include: Chair, Ms. Candace Johnson of The University of Alabama Center for Economic Development; Vice Chair, Mr. Joey Hester of the North Central Alabama Regional Council of Governments; and Secretary, Ms. Anne Kimzey, of the Alabama State Council on the Arts.